Skip to content

HIKM 2023

Can Health Information and Knowledge Management enable Sustainability?

The COVID-19 pandemic has clearly changed Health Care, Health Information and Knowledge Management – and our society in general – in many unforeseen ,ways but has also created unexpected opportunities and progress.

At our 2023 Conference we will explore, review and assess these changes and their effects on healthcare and society.

Now in its 16th year, HIKM 2023 is a leading high-impact conference held annually in conjunction with the Australasian Computer Science Week and a premier event for Health Information Science researchers across Asia-Pacific.


  • Emerging from the COVID-19 Pandemic
  • Data Science and Analytics for Healthcare
  • Cyber-Security in Healthcare
  • Use and Integration of Information Technology (IT) in Healthcare
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI) in healthcare
  • Internet of Medical Things (IoMT)
  • Electronic Health/Medical Records (EHR/EMR)
  • Social Media
  • Workforce, Education and Capacity-Building
  • Telehealth and Mobile Health
  • Alternative Medicine Informatics

Download Call for Papers

Presentation Formats

Poster + 5m talk
Short Paper (4pg max) + 15m talk
Full Paper (10pg max) + 25m talk

All submitted presentation formats will be peer-reviewed.

Accepted Short Papers and Full Papers will be published by ACM Press

Submissions: 1 Dec. 2021
Early Bird Registrations: 14 Jan. 2022


Conference Chairs
Klaus Veil – Western Sydney University, Australia
Pari Delir Haghighi – Monash University, Australia
Kerryn Butler-Henderson – RMIT University, Australia

Program Committee
Venki Balasubramanian – Federation University, Australia
Vicki Bennet – Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Karen Day – University of Auckland, New Zealand
Colin Fidge – Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Charlynn Miller – University of Melbourne, Australia
Anupama Ginige – Western Sydney University, Australia
Iqbal Gondal – Federation University, Australia
Kathleen Gray – University of Melbourne, Australia
Inga Hunter – Massey University, New Zealand
Mary Lam – RMIT University, Australia
Guan Luo – Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Chris Lynch – Macquarie University, Australia
Anthony Maeder – Flinders University, Australia
Quang Vinh Nguyen – Western Sydney University, Australia

Giles Oatley – Federation University, Australia
Chun Ouyang – Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Tony Sahama – Central Queensland University, Australia
Leonie Simpson – Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Jeffrey Soar – University of Southern Queensland, Australia
Jan Stanek – University of South Australia, Australia
Andrew Stranieri – Federation University, Australia
Zhaohao Sun – PNG University of Technology, Papua New Guinea
Alan Taylor – Flinders University, Australia
Shahadat Uddin – University of Sydney, Australia 
Chukwuma Ukoha – Federation University, Australia
Ying Wang – Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia
Jim Warren – University of Auckland, New Zealand
Burkhard Wuensche – University of Auckland, New Zealand